Jul 20

RHEL7 rc-local service.

With Systemd, the Init scripts are not there any more. Consequently, the execution of tasks at boot time had to change.

Hopefully, a nice solution has been found: it uses the good old rc.local file.

Now, to execute tasks at boot time, you put them into the /etc/rc.d/rc.local file.

Then, you change the execution permissions on this file:

# chmod u+x /etc/rc.d/rc.local

Besides allowing executions of tasks, this simple operation activates the new rc-local Systemd service for all the further boots (this is like systemctl enable in Systemd language).

Finally, you can start the rc-local service and, this way, test the execution of the rc.local file:

# systemctl start rc-local

SSD optimization is a good example of such a rc-local service.

Jul 07

CentOS 7 released.

Today, CentOS 7 has just been released.
The distribution can now be downloaded from the CentOS website.
The Release Notes explain what kind of images are available:

  • the DVD images contain most of the packages but not all,
  • the Live media images are also stored on DVD and allow you to decide to install the distribution or not with a reduced number of packages,
  • the Livecd image, stored on a CD, is a basic distribution,
  • the Everything image contains all the available packages.

In addition, the CentOS 7 FAQ gives you some tips:

  • How to activate your Ethernet network interface during the installation,
  • How to keep the old network interface names,
  • How to disable IPv6.

This is a good news for those who want to start to learn RHEL 7 but can’t afford to pay the fee.

Jul 03

Red Hat Live Chat.

Yesterday, there was a live chat organized by Red Hat on Twitter.
The subjects were RHEL 7 training and certifications.

Here is a retranscription:

  • RHCSAv6 & RHCEv6 exams are available until December, the 19th but availability varies by location.
  • According to location, RHCSAv6 & RHCEv6 can still be taken in exam centers or only in kiosk/onsite.
  • A candidate with a current or future RHCSAv6 can become RHCEv7 by passing the RHCEv7 exam only.
  • Red Hat recommends taking the RHCE Certification Lab, available as classroom, virtual training, & online, before taking the RHCEv7.
  • According to location, a RHCEv5 can get a 50% discount to take both RHCSAv6 et RHCEv6.
  • The RHCEv7 changes (4 hours instead of 2, more topics, etc) have been made based on input and guidance of Red Hat Certified Professionals.
  • All kiosk exam environments are entirely local (no latency) and keyboards can be remapped if a localized keyboard is not already available.
  • Other courses will be updated to RHEL 7 before the end of this year.
  • It is still possible to (re)download a certificate/transcript (“Red Hat hereby certifies…”) for a RHCEv5.
  • Courses on RHEL 7 have already started in North America.
  • UK kiosk is available in Farnborough and a new London location is looked for.
  • The opening of a kiosk in Poland is under consideration.
  • RHEL 7 training material should be available in French within the Summer.
Jul 01

RHCSA & RHCE exam objectives finally released for RHEL 7.

Today, the RHCSA & RHCE exam objectives for RHEL 7 are finally available.

Concerning the RHCSA exam objectives, there are very limited changes. Details are available in the RHEL7 RHCSA What’s new? section.

Concerning the RHCE exam objectives, changes are more significant. The exam now lasts 4 hours and numerous objectives have been added (and almost none removed). Details are available in the RHEL7 RHCE What’s new? section.

Jul 01

SLES for VMware End of Availability Announcement.

According to Sai Gopalan, VMware product marketing manager, “after July 25, 2014, customers that purchase VMware vSphere Standard, vSphere Enterprise, or vSphere Enterprise+ (either standalone or as part of a suite) will no longer be eligible to a free SLES for VMware offering.”

In a nutshell, the partnership between Suse Linux Enterprise Server and VMware is over.

The details of the press report are available on the VMware vSphere Blog.

Jun 14

RHEL 7 course information.

The content of the three following RHEL 7 courses are already available:

In addition, Allyn Collins from Red Hat gave the following information:

  • The RHEL 7 versions of the System Administration III course (RH255), the new Red Hat Certification Lab course (RH300) and the RHCE exam (EX300) will be live on June 30, 2014, allowing RHEL 5 RHCE to re-certify in the 60-day period,
  • Recertifying candidates will have 50% off for RHCSA/RHCE courses/exams as previously.

Source: Red Hat services blog.

Finally, according to the RedHatCertified Facebook account (https://www.facebook.com/RedHatCertified), Red Hat will provide the Red Hat Certified Engineer (RHCE) Exam on Red Hat Enterprise Linux 6 through December 2014.

Jun 13

Red Hat training changes.

While Red Hat System Administration I (RH124), Red Hat System Administration II (RH134), Red Hat System Administration III (RH255) and RHCSA Rapid Track course (RH200) see their content updated, the Red Hat Command Line Administration course (RH190) is stopped, part of it being added in the RH124 course.

In addition, the RHCE Rapid Track course is replaced with the new Red Hat Certification Lab course (RH300) because it is no longer possible to cover all the system administration courses in four days. This latter training allows students to practice in a lab with the help of an instructor before taking the RHCE exam.

Source: Red Hat services blog.

Jun 11

Red Hat recertification policies.

With the official release of Red Hat Enterprise Linux 7 happening yesterday, some certification rules are automatically triggered:

  • All RHCTs/RHCSAs/RHCEs on Red Hat Enterprise Linux 5 will be expired in 60 days, candidates need to pass both the RHCSA exam (EX200) and the RHCE exam (EX300) to get the RHCE certification again,
  • All RHCSAs/RHCEs on Red Hat Enterprise Linux 6 exceeding the 3 year period are expired (the RHCE exam date is the reference if both exams were passed, the date of the certificate of expertise in case one was passed),
  • All RHCEs on Red Hat Enterprise Linux 6 or later not exceeding the 3 year period need only to pass the EX300 RHCE to get recertified (no need to pass the RHCSA again).

Source: Red Hat website.